[AKR’s Playlist] The Sounds of 2013

AKR's Playlist - The Sounds of 2013

Songs have a tendency to become markers of time for me. Memories and emotions that have been since packed away in the dark recesses of my mind are resuscitated through songs that I had listened to a lot during particular periods of my life. Every song will evoke something different for me – a memory, a prevailing thought, an emotion – but that something will always be associated with a certain epoch in my life. For instance, I will always remember the summer before my freshman year of college as the summer of “I Love You” by 2NE1 as that song was essentially my summer’s anthem. Now that this year is drawing to a close, which releases from 2013 have defined this year? These are the songs that have resonated with me as being indexical of my memories from this year.

Some restrictions for the playlists:

1) Tracks must be released within this calendar year but before the time of publishing this playlist.

2) Tracks must be by artists associated with being a Korean act.

3)  One track per artist per playlist (lest my playlists become cluttered with entire albums!) but I will recommend tracks by the same artist that competed for the spot in the playlist so check them out too!

I will be splitting my year-end playlist into three different playlists, all reflecting a certain portion of the year. Hopefully, you will enjoy the playlists as much as I enjoyed compiling the songs! Click the playlist cover to go to the respective playlist!

~~~

The Sounds of 2013

AKR's Playlist - The Sounds of 2013 A

Defrosting a Frozen Heart: January – July 2013

AKR's Playlist - The Sounds of 2013 B

Homebound: July – September 2013

AKR's Playlist - The Sounds of 2013 C

The Fight: September – December 2013

One comment

Please leave a comment!

